artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have


26 Comments

Autumnal beauty

Today I finally took the time to hang the pictures I printed last week. I simply hung a line across my bedroom and clipped the pictures to it (no money for frames when you’re a student!). I could stare at them all day, not because they’re the best photographs in the world, but because they show all the beauty I’ve been able to capture and create in the past four months. I’m eager to keep learning and improving!

It was a good decision to hang them today, it cheered me up a lot. I have a cold and I’m feeling under the weather, with chills and a runny nose and an appetite for soup only. I’m one of those people who hate feeling sick; luckily I don’t have the tendency to take it out on my family, I just feel bad about all the things I can’t do because I feel depleted.

I hadn’t taken any pictures for two days straight (barely mustered the energy to take myself to college), until something happened this afternoon. My ninety-two-year-old neighbor fell from her bed and couldn’t get back up, and when we went to see if she was alright she complained about still being alive since all she has is an ill health. Then I saw the fading dahlias in her garden, and I decided I’ll undertake a photographic project – I’ll start shooting as many fading flowers as I come across.

My favorite writer is eighty-one, and she’s still writing the most amazing and thought-provoking books. Sadly, my neighbor belongs to an era when women were supposed to be housewives and mothers only, and now that she’s a childless widow, she feels her life is empty. My eighty-seven-year-old grandma belongs to the same era, but luckily she’s got a completely different take on life. She’s always cheerful, and she keeps herself entertained watching tennis matches on the TV. Now that she can’t play anymore, she can at least watch others play.

No one, absolutely no one, should feel their life is useless because they’re not young and healthy anymore. I’ve made up my mind to look for a different beauty in nature, one that is not young and blossoming, but is beauty all the same. I couldn’t have chosen a better time to start this project, since autumn is the season of passing, the season where young spring beauty has grown old and is about to die – to be reborn next spring.

Today I’m posting some autumn shots that I’ve been working on for the last couple of weeks, and as soon as I can I’ll start editing some of the fading flower shots I’ve already taken. Anyone has an idea for a title for this project?