artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Pastel wildflowers

38 Comments

She’s alive! Just barely so, but she’s alive.

It has been a long, gloomy semester. I’ve had no time to rest and no space in my head for creativity, and for all this, I’m immensely glad it’s almost over. I feel like dancing, singing and lying on the beach on a warm summer day, but most of all, I want to take a week off just to go shooting, to watch the sun rise and set by the sea, to dream of beautiful things and smile until my face hurts. I’m tired of worrying and rushing to meat deadlines and being a full time student.

I’m ready to put the last four months behind me, and start looking forward to the spring. And on that theme, I bring you some pretty wildflowers. I shot these who knows how many weeks ago, and never had the energy to edit them. There’s no sunlight in this part of the backyard except when the sun is high in the sky, so the photos were bright and boring, and I felt like doing some creative editing. I love how these turned out, and I hope you like them, too :).

38 thoughts on “Pastel wildflowers

  1. I think wild flowers have as much majesty as the most royal hybrids. And they are not to be confined in some crystal vase and they own the meadow and fields.

    • I’m lucky because my neighbor has a garden full of all sorts of flowers, and she’s given me permission to shoot there anytime I want, that’s where I shot these. And one of the most amazing things about photography is that it gives us the ability to see the world from a million different points of view, and to see things others would ignore.

  2. Gorgeous collection of images, Belen. Love that last one.

  3. Nicely done! The coreopsis are such welcoming flowers and seem to draw you into the composition.

  4. The third one is my fav, but like all of them 🙂

  5. Well done Belen, glad to see you are doing well…now head to the beach!!!

  6. These are all outstanding Belen! Hard to pick a favorite, but if I had to, it would be #4. Great light and POV.

  7. I really like your vision in handling these exquisite photos.

  8. Belen,
    I love wildflowers and you captured them so beautifully! The 3rd one os my favorite but the last two are awesome. These pictures have such a happy, cheery vibe to them. So glad for us (your followers) you had time to post these.

    Cheers!

    Nareen

    • Thanks, Nareen! I love the pinkish colors in that shot, it turned out lovely with the post-processing I was trying out. Glad you find these cheerful, that’s exactly what I was going for :).

  9. These are gorgeous, Belen. I love how you processed them. 🙂

  10. What a beautiful series! Just lovely!!

  11. Nicely done. So soft and lovely! I like the fourth and fifth ones best.
    And thanks so much for your “likes” on my photography blog.

  12. the processing is very nice here – and what a lovely scene!

  13. Excellent shots Belen, love the light, clarity and colours. Beautiful flowers!

  14. Awesome shots!

  15. These are absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful capture of the light and colors. Thanks for brighten up my otherwise gloomy day. 😀

  16. I like how you chose a cross processed look to the photos. It really helps bring a dreamy feel to the whole series. Well done.

    • Glad you like the results, Leigh. I had to do something with these, because the natural look was bleak and boring, this post-processing really helped soften the bright colors, and I love the pink tone.

  17. These are beautiful, Belen! I love how you edited them 🙂

  18. What beautiful pictures and effects. They affected me!
    Ann

Leave a Reply

