artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have


7 Comments

Red-gold sunset

Second test run in Sunset Mode. Say hello to lens distortion. Ugh. I didn’t have this problem with my L16. Looking closely at some of the pictures I took with it, they do have a barely noticeable amount of barrel distortion, but the ones I took with the L20 have LOTS of barrel distortion when shooting wide angle. Oh well, at least this can easily be corrected with Photoshop. These pictures have been corrected, and I really can’t complain. The Close-up Mode is much better than the one on the L16, and lens distortion can be fixed.

Lens flare remains in place, and I’d like to know if all other L20s have the same problem. But I discovered that by zooming in just a little bit it disappears, so again, can’t really complain. Overall, I’m extremely happy with my L20 (or Rosaleah, as I call her). And I’m sticking with Nikon.

I’ve recently learnt about something called exposure bracketing. Basically it means that you take three pictures, one with the automatic camera settings for light exposure (how bright or dark your picture will be), one overexposed (brighter), and one underexposed (darker). The end result: sometimes my camera hit it off and the first picture was ok, and sometimes thanks to this method I saved a shot that would otherwise have been too bright or too dark. Exposure bracketing  rocks.

By the way, this was one of the most amazing sunsets I’ve ever seen in my life. We’ve had cloudy weather lately, and sunsets just get better and better.