artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Bright sunlight

50 Comments

Hi, everyone! I’m still here! March has been a crazy month so far, and I haven’t had time to do much photo editing. I had a final last week (went swell, since I studied for an entire month and it was one of my favorite subjects), and I’ve been dealing with heaps of paperwork to see if I can take the last few subjects to get my Masters degree. Also, I’ve got to finish one more paper and I’m officially a teacher (just adding the final touches to the conclusion). I’m really excited about all these changes and endings, even if they can be a little scary at times.

I’ve also been lazing around, making the best of the last days of my vacation. Classes start on Monday, and it’s going to be a pretty intense semester. Hopefully I’ll be able to go to the harbor again very soon, and see what I can capture there with the new camera. I’ve been having so much fun shooting everything I wanted to shoot before and couldn’t – it’s amazing the possibilities a DSLR offers to capture the world.

I’ve wanted to take photos like these ones for a while, and I was really happy when I finally figured out how to. I’m in awe of the way simple weeds can look beautiful in front of a lens. Enjoy!

50 thoughts on “Bright sunlight

  1. The light in these is so inviting! Congrats on becoming a teacher! I wish you well in your journey as an educator.

  2. Belen,
    Was beginning to wonder what happened to you. Great to see a new post from you. The photographs are very beautiful. I especially like the first and last flower picture. I like the “warm” colors in your photographs. Good luck with all that entails to finally get your Masters. I remember those days very well.

    Cheers on getting closer to your goal as a teacher. : )

    • Finals and now the new semester are happening. I wish I had more time to shoot, but I can’t say I’m having a terrible time, I’m enjoying the subjects I’m taking, and it’s my last year so that’s a plus :). Glad you like the photos!

  3. The lighting is soooo beautiful. I like the second to last photo 🙂

  4. gorgeous shots with such beautiful light. Thanks for sharing. And congrats with doing well on the exam and good luck with your final paper. 🙂

  5. Wonderful shots, especially numbers 3,4,5 and 6 – where the sun is actually coming through the petals.

  6. Awesome pics. Great work to keep the yellow so sharp and against the white!

  7. Wonderful, the last one really “Wows” me!

    One persons weed is another’s wildflower 😉

    I’m with you on using a DSLR. You can create great photographs with any camera, but the freedom and flexibility to get really creative can’t be matched with many point and shoot type cameras.

    • By the time I got there half the place had been mowed, I was lucky to get there in time to shoot these.
      I wish I could get a macro lens, but hopefully sometime in the future!

      • That was lucky! You should look into a set of extension tubes. They won’t give you the 1:1 of a true macro lens, but they will allow any lens to focus a lot closer. A set of three of the Kenko tubes is right around $130 U.S. the last time I checked. Until I got my Sigma 150mm Macro that is what I used for my “macro” shots.

  8. congratulations….and your photos are wonderful!

  9. Great photos, Belen! And glad to see you back 🙂

  10. Awesome photos! Love ’em all.

  11. Congrats! Love the photos, shooting into the sun creates such cool, washed out effects. Makes plant life look very artsy!

  12. What glorious golden light in these stunning shots!

  13. Oh wow! I love these photos. The light is beautiful! They are almost like paintings 🙂 Glad to hear that you’re almost done with school!

    ~Alli

  14. Congrats on becoming a teacher!!!!

  15. Hi! I have missed you…and congrats to you!…
    Ahhhh…these photos are deliciously warm…it is fire for the imagination…this is somewhere I would love to be….thanks for bringing a piece of it here to us….best wishes to you
    blessings
    Celeste

    • Thanks, Celeste! This is actually an empty patch of land just outside my neighborhood, all I did was shoot in the right angle at the right time of day, and it turned into a beautiful place :).

  16. Very beautiful set of photos, very well done! More in this vein please! FATman

  17. Absolutely gorgeous work!

  18. Congratulations, Belen! You’ll be a wonderful teacher. Love the soft light in these photos.

  19. Wow, Belen! Looks like you have mastered your D90 beautifully… these are absolutely breathtaking. The warm soft light warms my soul. 🙂

  20. Awesome photos and the colors are so brilliant!!!
    Great job! 🙂

  21. Sooper dooper brighness here! I’m now a follower fellow friend of photography!

  22. I absolutely love these, its the kind of light I love in photographs – it makes everything look beautiful, warm and calm. 🙂

    • And it makes me miss the summer terribly… Oh well, a couple months and the first flowers will be making an appearance :). Glad you enjoyed the photos, and thanks for stopping by, Katy!

Leave a Reply

