artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Flower explosion

56 Comments

I can’t believe it’s been a week since my last post! Where are the days going? I’ve been working on so many projects that time is flying by and 24 hours a day aren’t enough (it doesn’t help that my computer is working at slow snail-speed, either). But it’s a good busy, so I don’t mind. Of course, the amount of photos I have to edit has reached an alarming size by now, so I guess I’ll be able to indulge and stay indoors on those frosty winter days when I’m too lazy to brave the cold and go shooting.

Last week the theme on my Flickr group was “In the morning”, so I grabbed Freedom and went exploring around the garden in the early hours. If my neighbors had the suspicion that I was a little touched in the head, they’re fully convinced by now and whispering about the young woman that was climbing a garden chair in her front yard and twisting in weird positions over a bush of white flowers. It’s better than being known as the crazy cat lady, though – at least it’s original!

I edited these in Color Efex Pro 3, and I must say I’m in love. I gave Lightroom a chance, but I’m a Photoshop girl, especially with these filters. I was playing around, so some of these aren’t exactly realistic colorwise, but I love the results. Hope you like them!

56 thoughts on “Flower explosion

  1. I love the blue ones best!! Well done!

  2. Great Bokeh! I’m so ready for spring!

    • Thanks! I’m enjoying bokeh immensely now that I’ve got the new camera :).

      • I have to snag my camera back from my oldest, who has been using it non-stop since she majored in art/graphic design photography. I still have to figure out how to work the dang thing, I’ve been using my iphone for awhile but I’m not really liking it too much.

  3. Gorgeous!!! I especially love the first one – the brightness, the bokeh, the translucent flower, the starburst. Amazing.

  4. The flower is BEAUTIFUL. I also love your sand word – Appreciate. That’s wonderful and something really to remind yourself everyday.

    • Thank you, Cassie! That’s my word of the year, because I want to appreciate the many amazing things I’m lucky enough to have in my life, and what better way of reminding myself than here on the blog where I share my work?

  5. Love the first image. Ahhhhhhhhh…..

  6. all of them are gorgeous with so beautiful light. But i must say I love the blue ones. 🙂

  7. i love the light in all of these! simply gorgeous!

  8. Bel! Son maravillosas!!! Tanto las fotos y como el trabajo que hiciste con ellas. Qué ganas tengo de aprender a hacer ese tipo de cosas. Tal vez también cuando bajen las temperaturas, por ahora mi pc se apaga por el calor cuando uso programas que requieren mucha memoria. No conocía ese programa. ¿Sigue siendo mejor el PS? Te adoro, divina. Mucha suerte. Besotes!!!

    • ¡Gracias, Nat! ¿No tendrás que limpiarle el ventilador como a la mía? Porque le pasaba exactamente lo mismo.
      He visto fotos geniales editadas en Lightroom, el tema es que hay que aprender a usarlo, y yo ya sé usar PS y puedo hacer lo mismo, además me resulta más comoda la manera de trabajar en PS con capas. Los filtros de Nik Sofware son lo mejor que encontré desde que empecé a trabajar con PS.
      Me alegro de que hayas pasado :). Beso!

  9. All of these are so beautiful! I love them. great post. xoxo

  10. These are worth waiting a week to see!

  11. Thanks for the ‘like’ on my blog…very good to see you there.
    These flower shots are great..

  12. I like the composition in that the focus is on the forefront and the background takes on a surreal – fantasy look. Reminds too how beautiful the color white can be when contrasted as you have. I don’t know jack about photography but I know what appeals to me anyway.

    • You’ve just described large aperture and shallow depth of field :). I didn’t know jack about photography when I started, and even though I know some fancy words now, I still go with what appeals to my eye. That’s what photography will always be about for me :).

  13. Gorgeous – especially the first one!

  14. Love the bokeh and flare in the top shot 😀 Have a great weekend!

  15. beautiful, beautiful post

  16. Beautiful, beautiful photos! I love the lighting in the yellow ones and can’t wait for spring to get here!

  17. Wonderful work. I really enjoyed your sunsets.

  18. Excellent shots, I’m still patiently waiting for spring up here, the dafodyls are in blooom so its not far off..:-)

  19. These are gorgeous, Belen. 🙂

  20. I’ve never seen anything as beautiful as this!

  21. I love all these photos.
    I like the game of lights 🙂

  22. 24 hours a day are not enough, I agree!
    Love your photos, I’m not into flower photos, but this set is gorgeous!
    Beautiful bokeh!

  23. Wow. Your pictures are so full of light! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

