artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Sunset on the rocks

43 Comments

For this week’s post I decided to give the Ocean shots a break and go with something a little different. A little because it’s still a sunset and it’s still the beach, but these are some photos that I took at our local beach.

What I love about these rocks is that you have to stalk the tide in order to get the right shot, so I put on my old sneakers-for-walking-in-the-mud and shot the sunset over the rocks like four days on a row. I have so much fun walking in the mud, and sometimes skiing in the mud, that I almost forgot I was terrified of slipping and ending with the camera in the water. Luckily I was underestimating the skills honed during a lifetime of living by the beach, and I barely got any mud on me, none at all on Freedom. That’s what you get from a childhood spent hunting for crabs (plus they’re the only ugly-looking creatures that don’t scare me at all).

I tried a new way of processing these photos since the exposure was complicated due to the contrast between the sky and the rocks. David from Stories from home posted about blending exposures by using gradient masks in Photoshop, and since I don’t get on well with HDR (not because I don’t like it but because I can never get it right), I decided this method was going to be my favorite way of dealing with this kind of shots. I was so right! I love the results, and the process is actually very easy and fast. I followed this tutorial.

There will be more shots of the sunset on rocks to come, so I hope you enjoy them :).

43 thoughts on “Sunset on the rocks

  1. All good, but the second to the last image is my favorite. Excellent work.

  2. Lovely! The fifth picture reminds a bit of the fifth picture in this series: http://summitcountyvoice.com/2012/01/19/morning-photo-painting-with-light/

    Keep up the great work.

  3. It’s sooo beautiful 😉

  4. Beautifully done! Love the warm tones and feel on the images!!

  5. Belen… nicely done indeed!

  6. I like how your love for the sea shows in your work, Belen. There are very strong elements in each of the first three. I like how you emphasized the sea in the first and the tidal area is marked in graceful, curving lines.

    I like the strong compositional element of the triangular sandy point in the second, with the water converging toward the middle from the left and right foreground and then snaking back toward the sun. And I like the isolated tidal pool in the third.

    But, like Jeff and Derrick, I like your fifth the best. The silhouetted marsh grasses in the foreground add depth to this image, and again the tidal waters drain and point toward the setting sun. Well done.

    • Thank you, Dave! I was climbing rocks like a mountain goat, trying to get to the next spot where I saw a reflection or a stream or a pool that I liked. I had a lot of fun taking and editing these shots, especially since I’ve wanted to capture the detail in these rocks since last summer. Glad you enjoyed the final results :).

  7. Stunning work, as always. Nicely done.

  8. As always… beautifully done. Thank you Belen for your support. 🙂

  9. Amazing! Such beautiful textures and light/shadows.

  10. Beautiful images, and I really like your blog.

  11. Thanks for the link to the gradiant tutorial. I don’t do too much photoshop to my images, hardly any, but it’s nice to try things now and again!

  12. Hi,

    I was passing by and was enthralled by the sheer power of the visuals.You clearly are consciousness-conscious and I accordingly invite you to :

    http://esgeemusings.com/2012/02/15/entropy-and-the-age-of-consciousness/

    I hope to visit again.

    Shakti

  13. Wonderful colors.
    Where did you make these photos?

  14. Stunning work!!
    These photos make me wanna stand on that place right away!

Leave a Reply

