artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Happy birthday and the Atlantic Ocean

71 Comments

Because, you know, what better way is there to celebrate than surrounded by beauty? Today Art is my sanity is officially one year old. One year of my words and my images, one year of crafting my soul by creating beauty. It was one of the best years of my life, and this blog was a great part of that.

I found my place in the world when I stood watching the sunset with a camera for the first time, and I’ve shared my path with you since that day. I grew as a person and as a photographer, I got my first DSLR, and like my favorite band says “together we’re invincible”. When I have a camera in my hands I’m invincible, and my soul’s unbreakable.

With all my heart, people, I say thank you. Without you Art is my sanity wouldn’t be the place of beauty, joy and hope it is today, and I wouldn’t have this lovely corner of the world to retire to when my soul needs rest.

Here’s to another year, and another one after that. At twenty-four my life is barely beginning, and I can’t wait to find out were my feet will take me, and share that road with you.

71 thoughts on “Happy birthday and the Atlantic Ocean

  1. Breathtaking series!

  2. Happy Birthday! Or should I say anniversary? Either way, while the accompanying photos are all very very good good, the last last one is WOW! good. I hope this coming year is as productive as the last.

    • I like the idea of a birthday better because, to me, Art is my sanity is like a baby that was born from my creativity and my efforts. I love my blog :).
      I was focusing on the sun and the remains of the jetty, when I remembered to go wide I said WOW too, the colors were so speactacular!!

  3. Amazing pictures! I particularly like the 2nd one with someone running along the beach. Happy-Blog-Birthday and keep up the wonderful work.

    • Thanks, Jude! That’s another one of my favorites. When I downloaded the photos I was really pleased with the way this camera captures water splashes that I wouldn’t even have noticed with the old one :).

  4. Happy one year anniversary! Sounds like a fantastic year and these photos are fantastic too. Very beautiful. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on your one year milestone!! Your photos are stunning and I look forward to your posts. It’s amazing how one little blog can change your life isn’t it?

    • Thank you! I love it when people say they expect my posts, it makes me want to post more :).
      I’ve been using Flickr and Pinterest a lot recently, and I have lots of fun, but when I think about this blog I know it’s special. It’s about more than just sharing my photography, it’s about all the wonderful people I’ve met and the words we’ve shared – it has a certain feeling of home that other social media lacks.

  6. Happy birthday. I have lived 10 minutes from the Atlantic(Miami Beach) almost my entire life. Seems to me it is not your feet that deliver you to places – it’s some spirit that makes you march the dawg outta dem kicks.

    • Wow, you’re so lucky! Now when I’m watching or shooting a sunset or a sunrise I can’t stop thinking what it would look like if I were by the ocean. I think my heart has found its home.

  7. Keep striving and celebrating… there is much to learn and to celebrate.

  8. Stunning images, I look forward to more 🙂

  9. Happy Blog-Birthday! I look forward to reading more. You are a source of inspiration. Thank you 🙂

  10. The Pictures makes my heart flutter and it brought tears in my eyes… It’s really wonderful! I hope I can take photos as good as you 😦 By the way, I realized that it’s your blog’s anniversary! Happy Anniversary!

    • Thank you! Awakening emotions in others through photography is a great thing to accomplish :). Anyone can take good photos, all it takes is lots of dedication, studying and hard work. And most importat of all, you have to love it!

  11. happy birthday! and lovely photos 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  12. Congrats on the milestone! Lovely shots 🙂

  13. Happy Birthday!!! Wonderful images

  14. Happy Birthday Belen and a super series of photos for the occasion!!!

  15. Happy Blog Birthday, Belen! Beautiful series of images to celebrate with. 🙂

  16. Congrats on the year & just beautiful as always. Looking forward to another year.

  17. Happy birthday!! The 2nd image is the cream of the crop for me…. can’t wait to see what the next year of your work brings us.

  18. Feliz Cumpleanos to your blog Belen! Your blog definitely reflects how much you pour your soul into it. Your pictures are so very lovely and peaceful.

    You say you are 24? Love and laugh to the fullest in your 20’s. They (and this wonderful blog) will carry you into your 30’s : )

  19. Congrats on your first birthday ! You are a superb photographer Belen, your photos are wonderful ! You are very talented and many more things awaits you in the future. I wish you many more successful years with your photography and blog !

  20. Amazing shots!

    Happy birthday to your blog!

  21. Happy Blogiversary to you! “When I have a camera in my hands I’m invincible, and my soul’s unbreakable.” LOVE THAT! You go, girl! Your future is wide open.

  22. Excellent shots and Happyblogaversary….:-))

  23. Happy birthday!
    Hope there will be many more to come!!
    Great photos!!

  24. Amazing series, Happy Birthday!!! Your photographic skills keep on getting better and better 🙂 definitely growing in the right direction!! Amazing!

  25. Great images!! Happy birthday, and happy weekend 🙂

  26. happy birthday, beautiful sunset ~ thanks for sharing…

  27. All stunning, but that second shot totally transports me!

    …and Happy Blogiversary to you!

  28. Beautiful golden hues. Happy blog-o-versary, and happy image making for the next year.

  29. Thanks for sharing this beautiful message with the stunning pictures….I am always so inspired and touched when I visit your blog. Happy One year! May you have many more successful years!
    I also wanted you to know that I have nominated you for the Candle Lighter Award. If you choose to accept, visit this link for details
    http://celestealluvial.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/candle-lighter-award-3/
    Congratulations
    Celeste

    • Thank you, Celeste! I’m glad to hear how much you enjoy my blog, it inspires me to keep working :).
      I’ll blog about the award on my next post, which should be soon so I’ll go finish editing the photos!

  30. I remember the first time I stumbled upon your blog more than a year ago, I think I commented on a poem of yours. (I’ve been slipping in and out of the blogging action since then.) I’m glad to see that your blog is now very successful. Congratulations. Cheers!

    • Hi there, Michelle! I remember those days, too. You were one of the first people who commented on my blog, and I don’t think I’ll ever forget that. Art is my sanity has grown amazingly since then, and it’s been an enjoyable and fun ride. I hope this year is even better :).

  31. Amazing. Simple amazing!!!!
    I’m very happy to discover your blog. I just added to my favorite 🙂

Leave a Reply

