artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Mora

38 Comments

I was lucky enough to catch the little monkey in the sun the other day, and distracting her with a weed I pulled, I managed to snap a few shots. She’s full of energy and I think she’s got her heart set on breaking the sound barrier, judging by the speed at which she zooms from room to room over and over again.

The situation with Robin is still tense, but he’s a wonderful boy and when I say “stop” he stops, instead of running after her and swallowing her whole. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to leave them in the same room alone, but oh well, a girl can hope.

One thing I can tell you about having a black cat, they’re awfully hard to shoot. I had to dodge and burn these shots six ways to Sunday to get everything properly exposed. Hope you like them!

38 thoughts on “Mora

  1. Beautiful shots of this black kitty. Mora is beautiful. I have a black cat too, and you’re right shooting them is hard. I try to always take a photo where the face is in the light, which means not taking a lot of photos. 🙂 Luckily my kitty loves to sleep in the sun. 🙂

    • Mora and I say thank you :). I don’t have many photos from Robin (my other cat) either because I try to shoot when he’s outside, but then getting him to stay put is a struggle. There’s always something with these kitties, I guess they don’t like working as models 🙂

  2. Great shots! You are right about the difficulty in shooting dark subjects like this. It’s easy to over-expose the subject if using the camera meter; you’ve done an admirable job getting the cat well-exposed. Cheers!

  3. What an adorable little cat. What does mora mean? And yes, it is hard to take good photos of black cats, but you did good working with that harsh light.

    • Thanks! Mora can mean “blackberry” or the feminine of Moor. My father picked the name, I guess he was subconsciously associating her name with her black fur.
      Glad you like the photos, it was definitely the wrong of time of day to be shooting, but with cats you have to be grateful when they deign stay still for a short while and pose :).

  4. Little tigers! Cat’s are, in short, cool 🙂 Like nr 3 the most when she’s looking down 🙂

  5. Cute Argentinian kitty with cool eyes..:-))

  6. Beautiful kitty. She reminds me of my Alaska. Give her a kiss from me!! The last shot is my favourite!!

  7. So cute! The top shot reminds me of the illustrations of Alice’s cat in Lewis Carroll’s books 🙂

    • You just reminded me I have to add Alice to my summer reading list. Having read it when I was about ten, I don’t remember a thing. Glad to know Mora has a funny streak in her, I think she would like Alice’s world 🙂

  8. A super series of photos!!! Dark animals are very difficult to photograph but you did a superb job!!!

    • Thanks! I’m flattered you like these so much :). I just love documenting my babies’ lives and combining them with my other love. Not to mention, it was a good chance to learn more about PS, which is always welcome.

  9. Cats are so much fun to just to sit & watch…they do some crazy things. Great shots.

  10. She’s so beautiful and cute! I like her second picture the most. She just looks there so fragile and sweet.

    • Thanks, Alexandra! The first days she spent with us she felt really fragile and shy. Now she’s running around like a wild panther and has joined Robin in his quest to take over the house, which is great! I just love that she has found a home she likes with us :).

  11. Hi,
    I found your blog through ladyfi’s blog. I loved the photographs that you put up. Mora is such a beautiful cat. Fabulous shot.
    Hope you have a fabulous weekend:)
    My Yatra Diary…

  12. Beautiful cat >>> I especially like the bottom photo – big yellow eyes in an almost featureless, black face – great! Adrian

  13. Nice shots. I had a cat that looks exactly like yours. I agree, it’s not easy to get a good photo of a black cat. Most of the shots I had were a black shape with two green eyes. You did a wonderful job capturing the details. 🙂

  14. What a beautiful cat! And your photos are wonderful. I’ve been having similar problems shooting (with the camera, of course!) a black dog. Very difficult.

  15. How lovely she is, and you captured her beautifully. I was thinking of getting some neutral density filters to help hard-to-meter shots like these (I like trees in bright sun, a similar situation), but you certainly did a wonder with dodging and burning!

  16. Mora is beautiful! I love her eyes!

    Hey girl, BTW, I just noticed that I’m on your Blogroll. What a nice discovery for me today! 🙂

    • Thank you! Mora is very flattered that everyone thinks she’s pretty :).
      You’ve been on my blogroll for quite a while, I was thinking earlier today that I haven’t updated it in too long, there are some more blogs I should add. All the photos I love to look at belong there!

  17. Beautiful Photos! I’ve a black cat too: Agata.

Leave a Reply

