artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Almond flowers

41 Comments

Happy spring and autumn, everyone! I’m so glad spring’s officially here. I think it automatically takes away my sadness and every bad feeling and puts a smile on my face.

I’ve decided to go for a morning walk now that the days are warmer. There’s a path that runs parallel to one of the main streets in my city. It’s a beautiful place to walk, separated from the city by tall, green trees that make it feel like a wholly different city hidden in plain sight, a quiet place away from the cars, the fumes, the shoppers. I love starting the day on an energy surge, and I had no idea we use so many muscles when we walk. By the time I came home today all the soreness in my back was gone, and I hadn’t felt that relaxed in months.

These are some shots of the lovely almond tree that grows around the corner from my house. This tree and I have a history, it’s very special to me and when it blooms (some years it does and some years it doesn’t) I stand under it and I feel very peaceful. Hope you enjoy the photos!

41 thoughts on “Almond flowers

  1. Quite lovely, and a reminder that it’s not autumn everywhere. It’s comforting and re-assuring as we head toward the cold, dark days of winter to know that somewhere else it’s the season of light and renewal.

  2. Beautiful. It is amazing what warmer weather, a peacefully walk and a camera can do. Winter is fast approaching for me so I will be relying on you to keep the sun in my mind!…no pressure though. Excellent work.

  3. These are gorgeous!!! Lovely captures!!! 😀 **

  4. Beautiful photos. I don’t think I’ve ever seen an almond tree in bloom. The flowers are so delicate. It’s nice to have a special place, such as your tree, to keep one grounded. I hope you have a wonderful spring, and as Bob said we’ll be enjoying your spring photos as we watch the snow fall here.

    • Thanks, Tricia. I don’t remember seeing one until a couple of years ago, and I’ve lived here all my life. I don’t know how I missed it before. Spring is always wonderful 🙂

  5. Beautiful pictures, very beautiful >>> but unfortunately for us up here, it autumn, not spring! But I like all of the seasons, they each have something, so all’s OK! FATman

  6. Absolute stunning! The colors are so crisp and clear and bright. The pictures definitly scream “Spring!” Overall great set of pictures!

  7. Almond Italian cake and cookies and pastry to die for

  8. Ah – what glorious shots!

  9. Beautiful blooms and you get almonds too, what a bonus..:-)

    • Thanks, Ed! I’ve never collected any almonds from this tree, actually the one in the picture is the first one I’ve ever seen on it, but everything this tree has to give is more than enough 🙂

  10. Seeing your lovely Spring flowers will sustain me through winter. Enjoy!

  11. Beautiful! I’ve never thought about how almonds grow. I wonder if I can have an almond tree here in Texas.

    • Thanks, Naomi! All I know about almond trees is that this one doesn’t have any blossoms (and therefore probably no almonds either) when it doesn’t rain enough, so it most likely requires lots of water. But like I said, I’m no expert on the matter, so you should try to find out.

  12. I enjoyed the photos very much!

  13. I would’ve thought they are peach or cherry flowers had you not told me it’s almond. I learned something today. Now I feel that I’m on track for the day. 🙂

    Nice images and thank you for stopping by my site. I always get happy when I know that you’ve stopped by.

    Enjoy the spring, my friend. It’s one of my favorite seasons to photograph. And I’m getting ready for the fall colors on our end of world.

    Have a nice weekend!

    • My neighbor has one of each tree in her backyard. Cherry flowers are smaller, and peach flowers are slightly bigger than cherry flowers but not as big as almond flowers. These are my favorite anyway, but I’ve got some cherry flower shots that I’ll post eventually.
      Glad you like the pictures, and I’m definitely enjoying spring 🙂

  14. Gorgeous photos…very refreshing like your spring weather. : )

  15. Lovely images, and a morning walk sounds heavenly!

  16. I love how you captures these flowers…you are very talented!

  17. I can almost smell it 🙂 Beautiful

  18. Isn’t Spring an incredible season! This tree is very beautiful. I love almonds. They are my favourite nut 🙂 I remember picking almonds when I stayed on a Spanish Island for an extended holiday. Those flowers look so pure an innocent. Beautiful shots.

Leave a Reply

