artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Blossoming happiness

21 Comments

I thank my lucky stars for all the wonderful people I’ve met since I started this blog. The kind words of support and good wishes you left in my previous post have made me feel so much better. There’s light in the world, we just have to focus on it.

That’s what I’ve been doing these past days, paying attention to nature as it grows and unfolds around me. My crocus plants went from the brown bulbs I planted in the autumn to tiny sprouts to the blossoming plants they’re now. I love opening my front door every day and seeing these flowers in my potted garden. My tulips are growing, too, and I just can’t wait for them to have flowers.

I taught my first official class as a high school teacher on Wednesday, and it was a great experience. I was lucky enough to get to teach science fiction, which is my favorite genre and doesn’t fail to enrapture teenagers. All the kids participated, asked and answered questions, shared their ideas – it was the kind of class I’ve always imagined myself since I decided to pursue this career.

I hope you like these pictures, you’ll be seeing some more of my crocuses in future posts :).

21 thoughts on “Blossoming happiness

  1. Congrats on the success of your first official class and what an excellent subject to start with. Loving the fresh blossoms.
    A.Wally

  2. Lovely blossoms,,,, hey,,, see you again…

  3. Good luck on your career. I did 33 years mostly 11th grade American history. Miami, inner city, violent, drug infested, minority, poverty and dysfunctional homes. There were joys and delights but the negatives far outweighed them I am a burned out shell of myself. Half our new teachers quite by third year. You have chosen a very admirable way to give your self to others. Every environment is different, however. I do take great consolation in that I spent those years trying to be part of the solution.

    • I wish all groups were like the one I have now, then I’d be certain my career will be full of joys. I hope I won’t be quitting, but then again I live in a city that’s way smaller than New York. I can always teach adults if teenagers turn out to be too much for me, but, like you said, it’s nice to think I’ll try to be part of the solution.

  4. Congratulations on your class, Belen!! And the crocus is beautiful. I am inspired by your post’s title today. Happiness and contentment, like flowers, do not spring forth in full bloom. They require patience, work, perseverence and a lot of tender loving care. Glad to see you’re “blossoming”. 🙂

  5. I love getting your posts via email. It always reminds me that it’s the opposite time of the year where you are — you’re watching the first crocus bloom and I just found the first few wild gentian growing in the mountains, the last wildflower to bloom before we start slipping into autumn. Keep it up!

  6. Beautiful blossoms. Best wishes on your teaching position.

  7. Congratulations on your teaching success. It’s wonderful when plans and life can come together that way. 🙂

    Your crocus is beautiful. It seems strange to me to be seeing a crocus at this time of the year. Our flowers will be winding down soon.

    • Thanks, Robin. I’m really grateful I got that lucky with my first teaching experience.
      I’ll miss your stunning summer shots, but I do want to know what autumn is like where you live. Every season is amazing there!

  8. GORGEOUS crocus shots. I am from Manitoba, and the crocuses coming up after a long winter were greeted like angels in petals!

    • Thank you, Carol! I’m glad you enjoyed my photos :). I’d never grown crocuses before, but this year they were bearers of spring since everything else started growing shortly after they blossomed, so that’s one more reason to love them.

  9. Love the first photograph! 🙂 And thank you for liking my post,too! ^^

Leave a Reply

