artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

A dandelion’s view of the world

52 Comments

Hi! I’m reporting from the twilight zone, i.e. the end of the semester. I have my last partial tomorrow morning (technically it’s already today, but my days don’t start until I get up), and one last paper to hand in. After that, classes are over and I’m taking at least a whole weekend off.

I was looking for my cat last week when I spotted the single dandelion growing in the garden. I forgot about the missing cat and went for the camera, but the cat found me while I was on the ground taking pictures. He always finds the camera.

I love how everything looks so huge when I’m on ground level taking pictures. It puts the world in perspective :).

52 thoughts on “A dandelion’s view of the world

  1. Very nice! Love these shots!

  2. These are great, the first one really makes you feel so small 🙂

  3. Good to see your posts again. I hope things aren’t too hectic and the weekend off sounds like a great idea. I like the angle you have shot these at, the first one looks proper huge!
    Astra Wally

    • Hey, Astra! It’s good to know people miss me when I’m gone :). The weekend actually extended a bit, and I’ve been offline for a while. I’m really enjoying sleeping in! I’ve been taking some pictures too, so I should be getting a new post ready soon.
      Glad you like the pics!

  4. I agree, it’s nice to look at flowers lying on the ground. For once we can feel like tiny insects in a huge world 😉
    Nice shots!

  5. Congrats on being nearly finished with classes! My dog does the opposite of what your cat does. She gets scared when I use the camera. I think it must make a high pitched sound she doesn’t like.

    • Thanks, Eden! I’m officially done with classes now, for a whole month :).
      Maybe it’s because you use a DSLR? We’ll see what my cat does when I get mine, but I really doubt he’ll run away from it – he loves the spotlight too much! 🙂

  6. The texture is amazing. Beautiful pictures. Congrats on having all of that work done. : )

    • Thanks! I love the feeling of having accomplished so much :). I’m getting started on finals these days, so I hope by August I’ll feel like I have done most of the work leading up to graduation.
      Glad you like the photos!

  7. I sure do like the perspective in your first shot… Real nice indeed…

  8. Love that first shot! Well done..:-))

  9. Awww, even your kitty loves photography 😀 Good luck with finishing classes!

  10. Belen, that first one from the ground up is AMAZING!

  11. Stunning shots of the dandelion, incidentally one of my favourite little flowers/plants, they’re so strange! Glad to hear you’re almost through all of your work and looking forward to some time off, you’ve earned it!

  12. These are wonderful! I love dandelions, I think they’re so beautiful … for a weed 😉

  13. Wow – marvellous shots!

  14. This are simply wonderful shots. Glad I found your blog.

  15. What a fun series! I especially love the first one. Such a fun angle, and the colors are gorgeous.

  16. Wonderful Flower,,, Like this

  17. Love the dandelion, they are such happy flowers and so much more than just a weed. Glad that you cat found you as well 🙂

    • I know, they make me smile because they’re always there, like any other wild flower they survive when the more delicate ones fade. My cat always manages to find me, I have his food! LOL.

  18. It’s cool how things fall out in life – you got the images of the dandelion while the cat came back. It works with my “go with the flow” philosophy. 🙂

  19. Hope all is well with you!

  20. That is awesome…I tried to get one of these once…it looked great when I was looking at it, but through the camera, it didn’t show up as good because of the big grey rock behind it. Great shots.

  21. Hello…..missing your posts!!! Hope all is well?? 🙂 Sending you some sunshine smiles from Australia.

  22. These are all good, but that top one is particularly awesome!

  23. Getting down close like that is a great perspective changer, literally but more importantly figuratively. It can turn a lawn into a forest, and the commonplace into something special.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • And by extension it can make your own world look completely different. That’s one of the things I love most about photography, it always helps me sort out the rest of my life :).
      Thanks for visiting and for the interesting comment!

  24. my most favorite childhood memory…dandelions. lovely post 🙂

Leave a Reply

