artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Crazy creativity

40 Comments

I was bored. I don’t know if you’ve ever been warned, but creative, crazy things tend to happen when I’m bored. And since I was bored and had a WIFI connection available (I always have the connection, but I’m not always bored), I decided to put my googling skills to good use.

I’ve been looking for cool ways to simulate the Hipstamatic iPhone app without much success, until last night. I came across two really great PS actions, the Hipstamatic mini set and the Hipstamatic revolution. The second one is really awesome, and proves my theory that you can do anything with PS if you know how to (or someone who knows how to is kind enough to share for free). And then I found a little program to turn images into Polaroids.

By the way, I keep forgetting to celebrate my 100 posts on Artismysanity (which are by now 107). Kudos to me for the work I’ve put into the blog, and thanks to all of you for being such an important part of it!

40 thoughts on “Crazy creativity

  1. Very cool processing! I’m loving the seagull 🙂

    • Oh, and congrats on your 100 posts!

      • Thanks on both counts! I’m so happy the seagull shot turned out so cool after all. The original was a bit too dark and blurry, but with this post-processing it’s just beautiful. I think we’re not ready to give up everything that existed before the digital era…

  2. I like these – especially the seagull.

  3. Congratulations on passing the 100 post mark. Champagne is in order!!
    When I have a little down time I will be reading the links you have put up as I really like the processing you have done here. My favourite is the last one. It reminds me of the 70s!
    Excellent work

    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra! I have to celebrate passing all my exams too, so champagne IS in order :).
      I’ve definitely fallen in love with this post-processing. I can save pictures that wouldn’t have worked any other way, and it’s just too much fun! I never cease to be amazed at the generosity of people who share such amazing stuff for free.

  4. Yay! Congratulations on your 100th post 😀 I love the feeling to these photographs, especially the wheat field 🙂 The lighting is so beautiful!

    I was getting ready to send your photograph out, but then I realized that I did not have your address 😛 hee hee hee. Could you please email it to me at earthypawsprints@hotmail.com Thanks! Congratulations on your 100th post again! 😀

    • Thanks! Those are actually some wild plants that grow by the road. They look so cool with this post-processing!
      I’ll be waiting for the postman every day from now on! You’re so generous!

  5. Beautiful photos! All your posts are really nice, and i’m loving the photos 🙂
    PS: Thanks for the ‘like’ on my photo post as well! I’m still pretty new to wordpress so i’m still trying to figure everything out 😀

    • Thanks! I’m flattered by your kind words on my work :).
      Welcome to WordPress, and I wish you a happy stay! You’ll find the people here are really kind to newcomers. They were to me when I was one!

  6. What beautiful artistry these photos
    express! Amazing what a photo can say
    without words. These brings a warm
    illuminating affect.

    Many thanks for your response on my
    “May 27th” shots.

    JAZ

  7. Wow, you’ve edited them to extremely beautiful shots! I especially adore the first two one’s. Really, you’re photographs are so amazing, I just keep on “liking” them! 🙂
    Therefore, keep up your work! It makes my day and congratulations (100 posts and such)!

    • Thanks! It makes me happy that you enjoy my work so much! Taking and editing pictures knowing other people will enjoy them is so much better :).
      I’ll definitely keep taking pictures, and I’ll keep playing with these PS actions, too, because I love what I can do with them.

  8. You certainly do have to love the additional creativity we can tap in to in this digital age… even if it can be dangerous when we get bored… lol…

    • I love it. It’s so much fun! I also think I would enjoy taking pictures with the original cameras instead of simulating the look they produced in PS, but there’s no denying PS is awesome. And it kills my boredom on a rainy day, so what more could I ask for? 🙂

  9. Congratulations on passing the 100 mark! It really is an achievement.

  10. Congratulations on your 100th (and more) post! 🙂

    I like what you did with these. Very creative.

  11. I love these photos! And congrats on 107 posts. Your work is amazing…keep them posting : )

  12. Congrats on 100! (well, over 100). Love seeing the photos you do. Thanks for sharing!

  13. fantastic work! I’m in love with the last three photos.. totally love this kind of retro processing. Especially the last one ..I would totally put it up on my wall! Please keep doing these kind of experiments 🙂

    • Thanks, Dhaami! I think I’ll definitely keep trying this post-processing, since people liked thse photos so much and I had so much fun. You’ll be stuck seeing retro shots for a while! 🙂

  14. You need calm down 🙂

  15. Love the gull photo and the last one!

  16. Absolutley beautiful & I love that I found your blog…amazing pictures to view all of the time! Wish I was as good as you!

    • Thanks! I love it when people enjoy my work and my blog :). It makes me happy!
      Anyone can be good at what they love, it just takes lots of practice and studying. It’s all a matter of having a goal and going for it!

  17. Wow – these are wonderful Hipstamatic prints!

  18. Most impressive ! They are all great, but shots 1 and 4 really stand out for me.
    Since I mostly work with PaintShop I have to use plug-ins rather than actions. Actions was a way of PhotoShop creating proprietary control over effects so they wouldn’t work with other imaging software. Good business approach – terrible sharing philosophy.

    • There’s never anything good about big companies trying to make money – they never think of people, their selfishness is outrageous. That’s why I love internet and the thousands of generous people who share their creations for free, since I can’t afford actions, textures or anything else.
      I’m glad you enjoyed these! I had lots of fun processing them.

  19. Your work is really maturing!! Excellent job!!

  20. Wow! They really do look like polaroids! What fun. I’ve bookmarked the link you gave to the software, but think I shall play around with photoshop and use an actual polaroid as a ‘frame’! 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

    Your photos of the dandelion, gull and the pampas grass are gorgeous!

  21. Thanks, Val! I’m glad you liked the shots, and have fun playing with PS! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

