artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Mysterious

36 Comments

I don’t want to say it out loud in case I jinx it, but my photographer’s block is gone!

Today I was trying to get my cat to come inside when I noticed my tulips are sprouting and my crocuses are showing the tips of a few leaves. I would never have guessed that winter would bring more beauty than autumn (I know it’s not officially winter yet, but we’re closer to winter than we’re to autumn by now). That’s probably because I’ve never liked winter, and I’ve never paid enough attention. I’m sure I’ll learn better this year.

On Thursday, I got up ready for a boring day, and then I opened my window. I’m sure I looked like a cartoon, rubbing my eyes over and over to convince myself that I was really witnessing all this beauty. It was very, very foggy outside – I don’t think I’d ever seen so much fog here. In sixty seconds I grabbed the first items of clothing I found, threw a jacket over my pajamas, put on my boots without zipping them up, and rushed outside with my camera. It’s a good thing is was foggy, maybe no one noticed the crazy looking woman with the disheveled hair and the unzipped boots. Living across the street from the small park is a true blessing, I’ll miss it a lot when I move to my own place.

These are my first B&W shots. I’m a fan of color, but since it was foggy I decided to try it out. I considered downloading a trial version of Silver Efex Pro 2, but then I read online that you can do pretty much the same with PS, it’s just more complicated. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but I decided to work with PS, and I played with contrast, saturation, curves, and maybe other things that I forgot.

What I love most about these shots is that they put an end to a photographer’s block that was driving me nuts. Beauty truly keeps the soul alive.

36 thoughts on “Mysterious

  1. Nice work. There’s nothing quite like a bit of fog to add interest to photos.

  2. The black and white photographs work perfectly with the fog imagery. I love black and white photographs, they create a stillness. The trees and the swings are magnificient.

    Walter

    • I never like the way my own pictures look in B&W, because color is one of the things I find most fascinating about Nature, but with misty shots B&W is more or less a must, since it conveys the still and silent atmosphere from the moment when the shots were taken.

  3. I’m glad you beat your photographers block.
    Excellent mysterious shots here

  4. These are great. Especially like the swings. I tried to get a shot of some swings at my church’s playground the other day, but just couldn’t “see it”. Good stuff 🙂

    • Thanks! I don’t think I would ever have taken a picture of these swings under normal circumstances. It was the mist that made them interesting to me. Mist can make pretty much anything interesting! Then again, under the right circumstances almost anything can be an interesting subject for photography.

  5. Greath depth and cool-looking trees!

  6. I think BW allows the eye to focus on the subject

    • That’s exactly what I think myself. When it’s a color shot we tend to focus more on the colors, but when it’s B&W what strikes us first are the subjects.
      In this case, the day was pretty much B&W, so the conversion was the natural thing to do.

  7. Stunning…as usual! I love these…the mood is amazing. Glad the block is gone. It is always such a relief to break through a block whether it be photography, writer, runner… good feeling to knock through that wall!

    • Thanks! Glad you like the mood; it was fantastic to be out there with the camera. I don’t think I’d even been out in the mist before.
      Blocks are awful, but at the same time they’re useful, since they draw out attention to something that is going on with us. And of course the satisfaction of being over it is heady! Life would be boring without challenges, wouldn’t it? ;).

  8. lovely pix. mist and fog is the best.
    You should give Silver Efex Pro a go, it is excellent. True, you can do a lot of similar things in PS, but I dont think you can add different types of film grain etc. All very easy with SEP!
    Tom

    • Thanks! Glad you like the shots!
      I use textures to add scratches, grain, etc. to my photos. I would love to get Silver Efex Pro (and lots of other software, too), the issue is money. For the time being I’ll focus on getting a DSLR and keep learning how to use PS, maybe someday I’ll be able to afford the rest!

  9. Awesome photo’s, they have such a great eerie quality to them.

    You pretty much can do the same as Silver efex with PS, but I fond the structure control better than using sharpening filters in PS. Plus SilverEfex has a great control point feature whereby you can control brightness, contrast and structure on certain specific areas, saves a lot of time with layer masks and stuff, just my thoughts 🙂

    • Thanks, Kieran! It was eerie indeed outside that day.
      I was hoping you’d let me know what your experience was, since I know you worked with SEP in some of your B&W shots.
      That’s more or less what I read online, that you can do the same things with PS but it’s more complicated. I guess I’ll take the challenge, if only because I can’t afford SEP and I already have PS. Let’s hope someday I’ll win the lottery!

  10. It is strange to see black and white on your blog but you rock it so well. Excellent shots, especially the swing set. So spooky! I’m glad you shifted your block

    Astra Wally

    • I know! I’m absolutely a color girl, but what can you do when the day is already B&W? I go with what Nature has to give.
      It was strange how eerie yet beautiful things looked that day. Everything looked delicate and special in the mist. I wish we had mist like this more often!

  11. These are beautiful! Very mysterious and shadowy.

  12. These are so beautiful. I love foggy days. I’d have been rushing outside in jammies and unzipped boots, too!

  13. Hi! Thanks for the like on my photo 🙂
    I really enjoy these black and white fog photos. I have been trying to get a good photo of fog, but I always miss it! Yours are very beautiful and serene.
    Thanks again, and great photos!
    -Hannato

    http://www.hannato.wordpress.com

    • I’m glad you like these! I think they turned out well because it was a really foggy day. I tried taking pictures in the fog on other occasions, but they didn’t work. And then I think the lonely, isolated subjects were perfect for the moody feel of the day. As usual, photography is a matter of being at the right place at the right time. I hope you get the shots you’re going after soon!
      Thanks for visiting!

  14. We had fog here on Sunday, but your trees look more exotic; all a matter of perspective. beautiful use of shadow and light.
    So how cold will it get down there as your season progresses ?

    • I was lucky I had such great subjects close at hand. Would you believe I hadn’t even noticed the stump until that day? And it’s been there for who knows how long!
      Judging by the way things are going, I don’t think we’ll have a very cold winter. Autumn has been pretty mild so far. The coldest it gets is -10ºC, but it’s not bad unless it’s windy, that’s when you want to hide under a blanket, and even your hair gets cold. How cold are your winters?

  15. I absolutely love these! They are so incredibly atmospheric. Wow! I keep wanting to go back and look at them. They really are great.

    I am also so happy that they’ve helped you with lifting the ‘photographer’s fog(!)or block.

    Love them.

    • Glad you enjoyed these, Sam! I loved the chance to shoot something different.
      I keep getting ideas of things to shoot; if only I could send my teachers to Mars and have all my time to myself…

  16. no photographer’s block in these photos at all… really sweet stuff!!

  17. wow
    i love the swing picture so much ! :>

  18. From looking at these images, I wouldn’t be able to tell that you’ve experienced “photographer’s block”. 🙂

    It’s interesting how bulbs start their growth in winter in Southern hemisphere. They are usually “spring flowers” on the opposite side of the globe.

    • I really hated not “seeing” anything to take pictures of, it was frustrating. But then one morning I woke up, saw this, and it was over. Now I see pictures everywhere but have no time to take them :(. Oh well, this too shall pass!
      I’d never planted bulbs before, but generally most plants grow leaves all year long here, since our winters aren’t so cold. Some even have flowers, so there’s a touch of color all year long. I really need to take some new pictures of my bulbs, they have grown so much this month!

Leave a Reply

