artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Reflected light

33 Comments

Today the sun finally shone again. I must confess I’m astonished by the accuracy of the weather forecast guy. He said it’d rain until Saturday, and on Sunday morning while I was immersed in a pretty interesting text for one of my subjects, the sky cleared. We can say I saw the light, LOL.

These are the last shots from last Saturday. One of my favorite sunsets ever, definitely. I went to the beach today with a prayer of thanks for the single sunny day in the whole weekend, and I’m still trying to process all the beauty I saw. I think I witnessed a completely sill sea for the first time in my life, with a perfect round orb setting inside it. One of the boats from this summer was apparently sinking. I wonder if the owner has been to visit lately, if he hasn’t, he’ll have an unpleasant surprise next time he wants to go fishing.

I’ve challenged myself to have a more positive attitude this week. Last week I was worried about college and depressed by the grey days, but this week I want to find the good and the beautiful even if days are grey and life is crazy. I’m starting both my residencies this week, so I may be absent more often during May. June should be easier on me, since of the residencies lasts only one month.

Enjoy these, and wish me good luck!

33 thoughts on “Reflected light

  1. Your photos are breath-taking. Thanks for visiting my blog which brought me to share this beauty.

  2. I like the way you’ve tilted the horizon making some unusual seascape sunset images, well done.

    • Thanks! Tilted shots are the ones that work best for this beach, since the sand and the sea go on forever and I don’t have a wide angle lens. Glad you like them!

  3. Once again…stunning. I do not think you could take a bad photo ever. I love the depth created by the color and how the clouds diminish towards the back of the photo. Hopefully the marina where that sinking boat is located has a manager that will notify the owner! What a horrible surprise. I wish you luck with your upcoming resedencies. I am sure you will do well.

    • That’s because I never post the bad ones! LOL. Thanks for saying that anyway, kind words always make my days brighter and encourage me to keep working hard.
      I don’t really know about the boat. It’s not a big one, just a small wooden fishing boat that is kept in the water because -according to my father who knows about this stuff- that’s what’s best for the wood. Still, there are another two ones that have been there forever and they’re still floating…

  4. Wish you well.

    Lol, you tilt left and right and no vertical format. It should be interesting to see the foam on the beach contrasting against the cloud with a bit more blue in it. Luv the colour.

    • Thanks! I do take vertical shots, but in the case of landscapes I generally prefer horizontal ones, since they include a larger part of what I’m seeing. I use vertical shots with flowers mostly, to focus on the small subject and avoid a distracting background.
      Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

  5. These are definitely some of my favourite shots of yours, everything is perfect, the water looks amazing and the colours are brilliant. Still loving the tilted horizon shots too 🙂

    • Thanks, Kieran! It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen; I just wish I had a DSLR to try HDR and see if I can get a more balanced exposure, but in the meantime, these are not too bad. Glad you like the tilted horizons, I think there will be more of them if I keep visiting this particular beach :).

      • I honestly think the exposure in these shots is perfect, the sky almost looks like it is HDR. I never ceased to be amazed at the results you can get without a DSLR, just goes to show how much is down to the photographer and not the camera!

  6. Very beautiful, indeed. I love sunset and your photos are just amazing in all colors and contrasting backgrounds of orange. Wish you good luck 🙂

  7. These are absolutely amazing. I don’t think I have ever seen sunsets as bright orange as these. It warms my soul and brings a smile to my face when I look at them.

    I wish you luck on your studies. I’m sure you will do just fine. 🙂

    • Thanks! I don’t think I’d ever seen such a colorful sea either. I’m always amazed when I shoot a sunset, because there’s always something that I’d never seen before.
      Glad these cheer you up as much they cheer me :).

  8. oh wow! these are breathtaking. Would look so beautiful as a set on a wall! The tilted horizons make the pictures look like abstracts and landscapes at the same time.

    Good luck with the residency! I’m sure you will do perfectly fine 🙂

    • Thanks, Dhaami! I don’t know how they’d look printed in a big size, but you now I’m always willing to send anyone an original. I’ll print a small version to hang with the others in my bedroom one of these days. Glad you too like the tilted horizons, I’m sticking to them on this beach!
      And thanks for the good wishes and the vote of confidence :).

  9. Beautiful photography, I can almost feel the warmth of the sun on my skin.

  10. LOVELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Friend recently sent me this quote and after seeing your post I was reminded of it :”Colour is a means of exerting direct influence upon the soul. Colour is a keyboard. The eye is a hammer. The soul is the piano, with its many strings.” V. Kandinsky 1914

  12. looks like a very nice sunset.

  13. Beautiful shots. The tilted ones are very interesting viewpoint.

  14. Beautiful sunset shots! How lucky for you to be able to visit such a lovely place!

  15. Amazing shots!!! Gorgeous sunsets, makes me wanna fly away right there!

Leave a Reply

