artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Summer reminiscence

18 Comments

I almost didn’t post today. I just can’t tell you how boring this day has been, locked up indoors watching the wind blow and the rain fall. I tried going out to take a couple of shots, but everything turned out blurred, and it wasn’t the kind of rain that leaves the world sparkling with diamonds.

But then, going through my archives, I found these shots that I took at the beginning of March, when life was beautiful and winter was just a fleeting thought. I don’t mind the cold, it’s the grey weather that depresses me. I’m one of those people who need to see the sun to have a reason to smile, unless I’m already depressed, in which case I enjoy having the weather accompany my mood. But right now, I want to smile!

18 thoughts on “Summer reminiscence

  1. It’s wild that you’re going into winter and we’re going into summer …

    • It can certainly confuse and frustrate anyone. I see so many lovely flower shots everyday, and then I go outside and all I see are yellow leaves and brown trees – it can be depressing.

  2. The gray and rainy days are always the hardest for me as well. I need to see the sun. At one point during a very long gray winter I told my husband that if I don’t see the sun soon I am going to get in my car and start driving until I see it. I didn’t care how long it took me.

    I love the photos from your archives. Love the unique look to the first photo and love the sun in the last!

    • LOL, that’s a great idea. I may try it if the weather gets too annoying here.
      Glad you like these shots, I remember I loved the little frizzy clouds that day. I would most definitely trade them for the ones we’re getting now!

  3. It’s the same for me too. Seeing colourful water and the sunlight shimmering on the water always puts a smile on my face. Your photos have certainly put a smile on my face. I hope that you looking at your archives has made you smile…you should, as these photos are beautiful 🙂

    • Thanks! Being there to witness the unique beauty every sunset has to share with us is one of the reasons why I am a happy person. Looking at pictures is good, but I always prefer the firsthand experience.

  4. Such beauty in a setting sun, you can’t help but be uplifted.
    Dave

  5. A valuable amber coin going into the safe for the night.

  6. I so relate to this post. Sunshine fuels me too!!

    Beautiful photos. I am jealous that you are so close to the beach. I’ve never been to a beach, but it’s on the bucket list!

    Carrie

    • Sunbathing changes my enery and even my mood. Maybe if I lived in a tropical place I would be happy and energized all year long :).
      I wish you can go to the beach soon. If you lived nearby, I’d take you myself. I love spending time by the sea so much, I can draw enough strength from one hour to last me a whole week.
      Thanks for dropping and by and taking the time to comment!

  7. These shots are all great, but I love that second one!

  8. Going through the archives and finding bright, sunny shots is a good way to get through the dreary days. These are all nice and aparkly. Very cheery indeed. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robin. I remembered you and your colorful archives while I was editing these. It’s great to have something beautiful and full of light to look at when it’s rainy and grey outside. I’ll keep the idea in mind for the rest of the winter :).

  9. Wow…these are breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

