artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Pine flowers

20 Comments

Today, my sister, brother in law and the little bundle of joy came for lunch. It’s incredible to see my sister so big and bright, and it’s also incredible that in just a couple of months my little niece will be joining us in person!

I took the chance to try some portrait photography in the front yard, and it didn’t go so bad, even though it wasn’t the best time of day. I’ve always thought this branch of photography is the most complicated, for lots of reasons, but someday I’d like to learn. For the time being, I’ll stick to getting better at my favorites – close-up and landscape.

These are pinecones from my neighbor’s pine (not the neighbor who grows dahlias in her garden, but the one on the other side). They just fell from the tree, and my mother picked them all up and arranged them on a little basket that she placed on her desk. Of course my cat proceeded to grab one and run every time he gets a chance, and that is how life goes on at home.

Aren’t they amazingly beautiful? I’d never seen pinecones that looked like flowers before.

20 thoughts on “Pine flowers

  1. I know exactly how you feel about portraiture… It’s an area of photography I’ve always wanted to improve my skills on, but is so difficult to get in to, as not only do you need to be confident in your abilities… you also need to have the ability to utterly relax your victims subjects, which I think is probably the hardest part… Do love your pine cone shots though as an alternative.. 🙂

    • I don’t think I’ll ever have all the skills necessary for portrait photography, for some reason the same things I have to consider for landscape or close-up -composition, lighting, shadows- seem much more complex when people are involved. Maybe someday, if I find a willing victim, I’ll give it a serious try.
      Glad you like the pine flowers! They were amazingly patient and ready to pose ;).

  2. I have been testing out my portrait skills lately, mainly through work but it is something I also wish to improve on.
    The light you have caught in these pine cones is excellent. The second shot is my favourite. It has excellent contrast and colour.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • I think you’ve got the people skills necessary to keep people posing and smiling. My people skills are limited to the classroom; deep inside me, I’m still the same old bookworm :).
      Glad you like them! I’m in love with the light, too – the benefits of getting up early. As days get colder, it gets harder. Sigh. I’m so lazy…

  3. Gorgeous color contrast! Peace, Phil

  4. I would love to get into portrait photography as well, but I can never seem to get it right! I love these pictures, I’ve never seen pine cones like that, they are awesome!

    • I’d never seen anything like them before, either. Glad you like the shots.
      Apparently I’m not the only one who finds portrait photography complicated, I feel a little better now :).

  5. You are right about beautiful, that’s for sure the best I have ever seen them look! Great shots!

  6. Curious about the yellowish bit visible next to some of the pine cones … what IS that?

    • A pine flower petal? I don’t really know how to call it, some pinecones came undone instead of falling to the ground in one piece, and these bits were all over the grass. I collected a few and I’m already planning how to use them in my handiwork.

  7. I’ve never seen pine cones like that, either. They are really beautiful, especially the way your captured them.

    Portraiture (to me) takes a great deal of skill, practice, and the talent to work with people so they feel comfortable. I’ve never been particularly good at it except with family (my granddaughters mostly, although I did do an engagement photo shoot for my youngest son and his fiancee, now wife) and strange strangers (people asking, or almost asking, to be photographed).

    • Thanks, Robin! Glad you like these.
      I think a great deal of things has to be taken into consideration when shooting people, plus they aren’t flowers or the sea, which pose for me for hours without complaining. I’d say the best way to improve would be to find someone who wanted to be photographed, and practice and practice. Like with any other kind of photography, actually. And be out in the open, of course. I’m light-years away from being able to do studio photography.

  8. The texture and shadows are very interesting : )

    • I think so, too. The pinecones are amazing, and I really like the background I choose for shooting them. The contrast of brown against green turned out lovely. And now it sounds like I’m praising myself, but the credit is mostly Mother Nature’s :).

  9. These are wonderful! I can see I’ll be looking for pinecones soon!

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like these :).
      I wish I could tell you what kind of pine it is, but I have no idea. I’m just insanely lucky that my neighbor decided to plant one in her backyard :).

  10. Amazing pictures! You make them look like flowers.

Leave a Reply

