artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Random bits of color

11 Comments

Today was a superb, great and wonderful day (please feel free to add any other adjectives you can think of). I’ve been nervous and jumpy for a couple of days, but now I know I shouldn’t have bothered. The class was SWELL. Everyone seemed interested, they discussed among themselves like I asked them to, they participated in the general discussion, and all the key points I had expected would come up did come up. I think I made a great choice of materials, above all.

The best part was when my classmates, who are studying to become literature teachers just like me, said they enjoyed the class and that the topic I chose was a very good one. We discussed the different definitions of literature that circulated in the last century based on a few short texts belonging to different genres and a handful of definitions from theorists. The hardest part was getting all the material together, the class flowed by itself. And people from History and Philosophy (it’s a class for future college teachers shared by all three careers) enjoyed it just as well, so I couldn’t be happier.

This was my trial by fire. If I enjoyed this, teaching was my calling in life. And boy did I enjoy it. I’m bursting with energy and I want to teach, teach, teach every day. In a little while I’ll start my residency in a secondary school, at first observing the classes and then teaching some myself. I’ve been told the school my teachers chose for me (they choose where we do our residencies according to where we live, bus lines, and so) is a very good one, so that’s another reason to be happy about.

These are some random shots from last week and this week. I felt they worked well together, and they’re just as colorful as I feel today. Enjoy!

And here is the wild beast, aka Robin. I’ve been trying to get a good shot of him for weeks, but he refuses to stay still for longer than a few seconds, and my camera has issues with moving subjects. But he’s taken to following me around when I shoot close to our home, so I could finally snap this one. He’s a miniature panther, but he’s so sweet, chasing his mommy around all the time :).

11 thoughts on “Random bits of color

  1. So happy for you that your first day went well. It’s great that you received positive feedback from your students. Congratulations on making such a good first impression.

    I love the yellow leaf and I really like the the berries, they look lika a natural necklace. Very pretty.

    • Thanks! I enjoyed yesterday’s class a lot, I hope all my classes go that well.
      I’ve fallen in love with yellow autumn leaves, glad you like this one, too. They’re actually seeds, not berries. I’m just clarifying because trying to eating one may severely damage your teeth, since they’re wooden ;).

  2. Love your enthusiasm for teaching. I left teaching three years ago after teaching for eleven very worthwhile years to work at our family business. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t miss my students but my present schedule works best for my husband and I.

    Love the photos and poems you’ve included in your blog. Beautiful!

    Jeanne

  3. supercalifragilisticexpialidocious – that’s my adjective input! I’m glad it went well for you and that is excellent news about the feedback. It is great you are getting to do one of your passions as I job. I always had faith.
    The little lone golden leaf is by far my favourite. So beautiful. And the cat looks cool, certainly less evil than my moggy
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Wow, that’s an awesome adjective, how could I forget to include it? It was a great day, Astra, glad you’re happy about my good news 🙂
      I’ve been chasing yellow leaves around the neighborhood for weeks now, and I’ll post more shots one of these days. You have yet to post a picture of your murderous cat, I want to meet her!

  4. Great pics, I love the last one (before Robin), the colours are brilliant. Glad your class went well, sounds like you’re going to be an awesome teacher! By the way my cat Pixel is actually just a smaller version of Robin!

    • Thanks, Kieran! I was stunned when I walked into those palm tree seeds. Can you believe they’ve been there for almost as long as I’ve lived here and I’d never noticed them before?
      I hope I’ll be a good teacher, if all my students are like these ones I’ll certainly be a happy one :).
      Is Pixel smaller because he’s younger, or just because he’s smaller? Robin is turning into one big ball of fur; he’s one and he keeps growing!

  5. I like that leaf in the second one…it looks like the light on it is from a fire close by!

    • It is a fire, although it’s not a nearby one, but rather one that is millions of kilometers away; I took this shot in the early sunrise light, and thus the golden warmth. There’s no light like early morning and sunset light during autumn.

Leave a Reply

