artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Sunset silhouettes

16 Comments

Silhouettes from this Saturday. I didn’t get to see the sea this weekend, and I’m calm only because holy weeks’s ahead and this will be a super short week. I think from now on I’ll be scheduling my adventures for other days and never again miss my weekly sunset by the sea.

While I was shooting the rails, there were a group of guys filming something and wondering out loud if I was going to steal their project. I’ve no idea who they were, but they certainly were possessive on whatever they were creating. I’ve zero knowledge of filming, so they shouldn’t have bothered.

I’m lucky I’m still here sharing pictures with you, because I almost died last Saturday. I had my back on the road and was focused on the little wild flowers that survived being run over by our car, when some very sociable person drove by and honked at me. A very loud honk. I think I jumped a meter in the air, and I didn’t have a stroke because I’m a mildly healthy twenty-three-year-old. From now on, I’d rather be ignored.

I’m really happy with the quality of these shots. It’s something I hadn’t tried before, and my point-and-shoot did quite well. I adjusted contrast and saturation in Photoshop, et voilà. I have some more shots to edit and post. I hope you like these!

16 thoughts on “Sunset silhouettes

  1. The railroad shot is awesome. The light … the contrast between the metal rail and the old wooden ties … gorgeous work!

  2. I agree with Bob, I love the railroad one too. I love the light that you have captured.

    They are all lovely! The yellow flower just makes me want to smile, it’s such a happy colour.

    • Thanks! Sunset light is always amazing, and it makes me smile very often :). Glad you like the flower, too. I really love wild flowers, and this one was so cheerful and seemed so strong and resilient, I just had to take a picture.

  3. I too agree. The railroad shots are simply superb! Great composition. I also love the big yellow flower, it is so vibrant an grabbing, so unashamed of being what it is. Beautiful work.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra! I’d wanted to shoot a railroad for a while, and this one was a fantastic subject, I’m so happy I spotted it.
      Love the idea that the flower is unashamed of being what it is. I heart the little flower!

  4. Wow, I was shock when knowing you almost killed by a car while focusing on the little flower. Please take good care of yourself, for your family and friends, and for people who enjoy reading your writing.

    • Thanks for worrying about me. It wasn’t the car, really, it was the loud noise. Cars shouldn’t be allowed to have such loud honks.
      And thanks for saying you enjoy my writing, it’s much appreciated! :).

  5. Great shots, It might have been the bent over part that got the honk..:-)

    • Thanks!
      I was kneeling on the ground, the only part of me that was visible was my back. I’m a little paranoid about public exposure, so that couldn’t have been the reason behind the honking factor. I think it’s just that people are kinda crazy :P.

  6. I’m a fan of the railroad shot as well, and I also like the last silhouette with the moon. It’s easy to get really absorbed when you’re photographing something and block out everything else. A honk definitely would have scared me to death!

    • That was exactly the case. I get lost in my own world when I’m shooting, and the last think I expect is a loud honk behind my back.
      The silhouette + moon is one of my favorites, I’m glad you like it.
      Thanks for dropping by, and thanks for your comment!

  7. Yea, I really like the 1st two the most (all great), but those are my favs!

  8. They are all lovely. I especially like the shot of the rails. The way you captured the light on them is amazing.

    Glad you didn’t have a heart attack from that horn beeping. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robin! Glad you like these, the sunset light that day was great, and the rails looked golden, so I just had to ask my mother to stop so I could snap a few pics.
      I’m glad, too. There’s too much going on in my life now to have to give it all up!

Leave a Reply

