artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Sunsets and butterflies

21 Comments

I spent the day taking pictures, studying for college, and editing shots from last week. I concluded that college can be both exciting and boring at the same time, and that this sunset was lovely and the beach is magical. I’m totally going back ASAP.

I printed some of my shots today; I’d wanted to do it for a while, but I never found the time. It was strange, but when I saw the pictures coming out of the printer one by one, on paper, I felt butterflies. It’s as if this was the completion of months of gratifying hard work. I’ll hang them in my bedroom so I can see nature’s glorious beauty every day, and remember what I’m working for.

I’m rather wordless tonight, because I’m so tired, so I’ll leave you with these pictures and the wish that you enjoy them and have a great weekend. I’m off to my warm, comfy bed. See you tomorrow with more shots!

PS: I have to credit Muse for the inspiration they provided for the title. I’m running out of titles to go with my sunsets!

21 thoughts on “Sunsets and butterflies

  1. These shtos are amazing, especially the ones with the silhouettes of people in them. The balance of light between the sky and the foreground is brilliant, this is something I really struggle with.

    • Thanks, Kieran! I struggle with that all the time, too. In this case, I realized the reflection of the sun on the puddles collected in the sand helped balance light and darkness. That’s one of the reasons why I fell in love with this beach immediately.

  2. These shots are amazing, especially the ones with the silhouettes of people in them. The balance of light between the sky and the foreground is brilliant, this is something I really struggle with.

  3. Beautiful,the last sunset looks so warm and inviting. I like the introduction of the people basking in the sunsets. They add a little human touch without destroying the wonderfully powerful skyscapes. Also the composition and texture in the first photo is really cool.
    Excellent yet again
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra! The sand was amazing; I had lots of fun kneeling on the ground and trying out different angles. There was also the added plus of people swimming and rowing (while I was missing the jacket I’d left in the car). Add to that a bunch of clouds, and that’s the perfect recipe for sunset photography!

  4. I love the intensity these reveal. : )

  5. Beautiful images by The King of Sunset!
    You really deserve this name 🙂

  6. Very nice photos. I especially like the sunsets with the people in them.

  7. Oh my, these are beautiful! The silhouettes especially,wow!

  8. I do have a special love for shooting sunsets, and these are amazing… My personal favourite is the second shot, and the warmth it exudes from the sunlight reflecting off the sand… I bet they look just as stunning in print too… 🙂

  9. Looking at your sunset photos has always been a time for visual escapade. And the feeling I can only liken to how this song makes me feel: http://wip.egeulf.net/blog/P%20-%20A%20Whiter%20Shade%20Of%20Pale.mp3. It makes me speechless.

    Beautiful – what’s more to say.

    • Thanks, Michelle. I’m feeling down this morning, I have a cold and life keeps getting complicated, and then I open my mail box and find your comment with a link to this beautiful song, and you cheered up my morning. I have Sarah Brightman’s version of this song, and it’s so very soothing.
      I’m planning to do a slide with my pictures and a song that I have yet to choose, I only need to find the time. I have a feeling you’ll enjoy it!

      • I first heard this song from my mom, and every time I’d it I’d have this image of a smoke-laden beer house with a woman dancing on a pole.
        But of course as I got older it took a different interpretation in my head. Not as sleazy anymore 😀

        Maybe I could suggest you some tracks for the slide you’re planning? Sometimes I think that I’m not really good at anything but scouring songs to perfectly fit my mood. Maybe I could do it for your pictures, too 🙂

  10. I think I’ll try something by Muse first, but if it doesn’t work I’ll definitely ask you for suggestions; you always find the loveliest slides out there :).

  11. What a lovely collection of photos you have and these, in particular, are just gorgeous. I agree with you, I love sunsets (*and* the sunrise) for that matter) and it always feels like a *privilege* somehow to witness them.

    BTW, people don’t honk at me with my camera! …So I’m thinking that they might be honking at you because they see a pretty girl with a camera! 🙂

    I hope you’re feeling a bit better today. At least it’s a long weekend – more time to relax and be outside, camera in hand.

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like my pictures :). Being there to watch the sun rise or set always makes me feel like nothing can be bad enough to destroy all the beauty of this world.
      LOL, I think they don’t have enough time to notice what I am like; I’m convinced they just want to be part of something, whatever it is.
      Thanks for your good wishes. I think I’m going to have to spend the greatest part of the weekend indoors recovering, but if the weather gets better I’ll escape for a while and go photoshooting. Maybe I’ll get better just by watching the sunset :).

Leave a Reply

