artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Colorful seasonal confusion

22 Comments

Flowers, flowers all around! I’m slightly confused as to what season this is supposed to be; the calendar says autumn, but I think the weather must have missed the memo, because flowers are blossoming everywhere. Not that I’m complaining, of course.

I’ve been playing with textures again, ‘cause it’s so much fun. I love the colors, and I’m particularly fond of the second shot, even if it’s not the best one. The last two ones I had already posted, but I wanted to try some textures on them and see how they added to the mood of the picture; I think they work wonderfully. Pictures number six and seven are the same one with and without textures, because I couldn’t decided which I liked more.

All textures were downloaded from Shadowhouse Creations. As usual, enjoy, and thanks for taking the time to have a look at, comment and like my posts!

22 thoughts on “Colorful seasonal confusion

  1. These are beautiful. The textures add an interesting quality to the tone of the photos. The colors are so vibrant as if you could actually feel the colors themselves. The last two are intriguing with the textures. Keep capturing images!

    • Thank you! I love how textures can create or add to the mood of a shot. It’s a whole world of possibilities.
      And thanks for always taking the time to leave a kind and encouraging comment :).

  2. i love the yellow flower on top! i really did say WOW when i saw it 😀

  3. I love the red dahlia – it’s one of my favourite flowers and you’ve really captured its beauty.

  4. I think the second one is best. Although the other flowers are striking and beautiful the second image has excellent composition, colour, contrast and lighting. I look at it and wonder where they came from, what did they belong to etc… and I like that in an image.
    Superb yet again
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra! That one is my favorite, too, because it has such an atmosphere to it. Beautiful and melancholic at the same time. Plus flower shots are generally of blossoming flowers, and this kind of composition is very interesting in my opinion, a necessary part of the cycle of life.

  5. WOW! Beautiful shots of the Dhalia ans Snapdragon..:-))

  6. Beautiful pictures, especially the first one, amazing!

  7. Great Shoot, I Agree with Astra that the second one is best… 🙂

  8. I like very much the second image!
    The fading beauty…

  9. Beautiful photos. I do like the second one as well. It has a fragility and wonderful feel to it. And, thank you for stopping by and commenting. I just started my blog, so I appreciate it. 🙂

  10. Beautiful photos. Love the vibrant color of the dahliahs.

  11. I wondered why Photograph of old rusty rose 1 , strongly attracted my attention amongst the all of your colourful flowers and I think it is because it stands against them all , symbolises the fleeting nature of life and like the old human face which has lost superficial youthful appearance still contains something much deeper within which is essentially beautiful …

    • I’m so glad that was the shot that captured your attention. When I first posted pictures of this rose, I wrote in the post that to me they symbolized the stage of passing, a necessary part in the cycle of life. When I showed these to my acquaintances some of them said it was ugly because it was old and dying. Death is a part of life, and I feel the need to acknowledge it, and shoot not only the beautiful, thriving flowers, but also the ones that are passing. To me, there’s beauty in all of them.
      Thanks for dropping by and leaving such an insightful comment!

Leave a Reply

