artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Violet sunset

22 Comments

I had a great day today. I didn’t have any classes, so I decided to do all the stuff I can’t get done during the rest of the week. I got up early and went out for some autumn-themed shots – which lead me to discover that there are lots of interesting autumn colors and subjects around the neighborhood that I had never noticed before. Afterwards, I spent the rest of the morning doing something that many women enjoy – going to the hairdresser’s. I don’t enjoy the waste of time, but at least I read a little while I was waiting for the dye to work. I love my hairdresser; she always works magic on my hair, and I can trust her implicitly. For obsessive, perfectionist me, this is a huge relief.

Treating myself to a few hours of pampering left me feeling beautiful and happy all day, and spending the afternoon editing the last batch of my Saturday shots left me feeling creative all evening. All in all, it’s been a very good day, and I’m happy to say I love being me. I hope you all had great days, too :).

22 thoughts on “Violet sunset

  1. You having put the words violet and sunset together in the title made me smile; violet is my favorite color (and olive green, too). If ever I see a violet sunset with my own eyes, I’d probably die in bliss.

    Oh, what’s the color of your hair now? For the longest time I’d been adamant in keeping my hair in natural black, but lately I’m thinking of turning it into red. (You know, go crazy while being young still gives you the licence to.)

    • LOL, the exact same thinking that finally made me take the leap and dye my hair last October. I wanted to start my twenty-third year renewed, to leave behind a lot of things I didn’t want, so I went ahead and highlighted it red. Dying your hair red doesn’t always work; I’ve seen one woman too many with the weirdest shades of unnatural red, so I highlighted it instead and kept my natural brunette as a base. It works wonderfully, and that’s why I went for a repeat yesterday.
      You should come visit, Michelle, we have violet sunsets here often. I used the Dusk/Dawn Mode in my camera which has a blue/violet filter, but in this case it only helped capture the real colors. The sky was light up in pinks and violets; it was as if the whole world was glowing. Simply magical.

  2. It is always good to take time and paper yourself.
    I really like the silhouettes of the people working away as the sun goes down. It’s a pity they have to work as they miss all the wonderful beauty.
    My favorite is the sinking walkway. Excellent composition
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra. The walkway isn’t really sinking, it’s just floating, which is lucky, since I was sitting on it when I took the picture.
      I actually think these people know the benefits of their job, and they enjoy the natural beauty every day. Except for the fact that the fishing business in the zone is dying due to the pollution from nearby factories :S.
      As for the people on the pier, they weren’t working, they were just getting their boats out of the water. I want to hunt them down and thank them for posing while I shot and giving me such wonderful compositions :). Who knows, maybe I will.

  3. Beautiful color and nice silhouettes.

  4. Beautiful shots, nothing beats a good sunset..:-)

  5. Beautiful, the water looks so calm and the faint reflections of the sunlight on the water are really nice.

  6. Beautiful…looks so calm & peaceful!

    • Thanks! It was a magical sunset. The air was still, the surface of the water was as flat as we ever get here, and the light was violet. It felt like time stopped and the whole world held its breath and just watched.

  7. I love the blend of colors and play of light on the water. These shots make me want to race to some water! Beautiful photos.

  8. Heavenly hues! I’ve had a few experiences where I stood right at a place where water met sky and the earth seems to fade away. It is a magical experience. I’m happy you shared these lovely images.

    • It feels like one’s experiencing something unique and incredibly powerful, doesn’t it? Being the reader and writer that I am, I always imagine there’s a portal to other dimensions during these magical moments.
      I’m happy you stopped by and took the time to leave such a nice comment :).

  9. The colors are wonderful! I especially like the third shot for some reason.

    It’s always nice to pamper yourself once in a while. I have an appointment this week to do just that. 🙂

    • I love coming back home and feeling beautiful, I just don’t like having to wait for hours when I have my hair dyed.
      The third shot is one of my very favorites from Saturday; I could have kissed those people for docking so late in the evening that they came in with the setting sun. I’d been hoping to shoot at least one yacht with the sunset as a background, and I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful composition.
      Enjoy your pampering time, Robin! 🙂

  10. Wow — these photos are so beautiful!

  11. Amazing Sunset… I Love this… 🙂

Leave a Reply

