artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Sunset + harbor + camera = peace

12 Comments

A couple of weeks ago, Robin wrote about photography as meditation. I’ve had the topic bouncing around in my head ever since, and I think this post is quite appropriate to talk about it, since the shots I’m posting were taken when I was in a complete state of calm and peacefulness.

In the past twenty-two years of my life, I’d never felt the way I feel when I’m walking around with my camera and my headphones playing Muse, Arcade Fire or Angels and Airwaves. I don’t know why it happens, I just know it’s magical, and that’s why I believe photography is my raison d’etre.

Like Robin said in her post, now I see things in pictures, I see the world in frames. The road I’ve traveled hundreds of times before commuting to college has now become a world of wonderful discoveries, and every kilometer I wish I could jump out of the bus window and snap a few hundred pictures.

When I’m depressed, down, or moody, all I have to do is grab my Rose (Rosaleah, my Nikon L20), and go out. I always come back home a renewed woman.

I notice everything; I pay attention to every detail. When you live life like this, it’s impossible not to see beauty every day. When you see beauty every day, your life is different. It changes you. It saves you.

This sunset was so extraordinarily beautiful that I felt like I was floating on a cloud in some dimension where one can only be happy and at peace. I hope some of that shows in these pictures. I hay yet more pictures from Saturday; I hope you’ve been enjoying them so far!

And one of my favorites. Isn’t it amazing that such intense colors exist all at the same time?

12 thoughts on “Sunset + harbor + camera = peace

  1. Beautiful pictures, I like the one with the men pushing the boat on the pier the most, it tells a story. The separation between the bright warm colours on the horizon and the cool blues on the top of the picture is beautiful as well.

    I know what you mean about seeing everything in frames, the last few months all I’ve done is walk around looking around me at the sky and everything else, seeing everything as a picture. Unfortunately it means I walk into things a lot because I’m not looking where I’m going! I can completely lose myself in taking pictures, I’ll go out to take some shots for maybe half an hour, but by the time I realise it I’ve been out for a couple of hours!

    • Thanks, Kieran! There’s one more shot of people that I really love; I’ll post it tomorrow, probably, since today I’ll be gone all day.
      The sea was lovely because the day wasn’t too windy, so it turned out great in most of the shots. I’m dying to shoot a body of water that has a completely flat surface.
      I’ve always been dead clumsy, so photography hasn’t made much of a difference in the amount of bruises I give myself weekly. I just have to be extra careful so nothing happens to my Rose. Now that would be a regrettable wound.

  2. I agree with Kieran, the photo of the people pushing the boat is an excellent shot, very powerful.
    The colours you capture in your images are stunning, such a wonderfully vivid range of pinky reds, golden yellows and deep moody blues.Beautiful.

    I have been know to head out photographing in the wee hours of the morning and end up gone for a day or two. It is so easy to be lost in the peace of photograph and in the environment I photograph in.The escape is great.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks, Astra. I don’t usually like to include unsuspecting people in my shots, but since they were only silhouettes here, I decided it’d be alright.
      The colors I capture are beautiful, but the real ones are even more beautiful. I’m so blessed to be able to witness them so often!
      I’ve already told you one day we’ll lose you to the wilderness. Just be careful to take food and water with you and you’ll be okay.
      My legs still feel as if I’d run a marathon after the two and a half hours I walked on Saturday, and yet while I was doing it I didn’t even notice the effort. I’m definitely out of shape.

  3. It does look very peaceful…I like the 2nd to the last one….the blue color looks great!

    • Thank you! It was one of the most peaceful days I’ve seen in my life. The blues, the pinks, the purples, the reds, the goldens, all the colors were amazing. Nature is so wonderfully magnanimous…
      Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Beautiful shots, as always. The colors and light are wonderful. They evoke a sense of peacefulness.

    Thank you for the link. I appreciate it. 🙂 I can relate to wanting to jump out of a moving vehicle and take a hundred or so photos. lol! I feel like that almost all the time.

    • Credit was due, Robin :). It was a magical sunset, more than I dreamt I would find when I set out. I think the universe decided to teach me a lesson on faith, both on its beauty and on my own work.
      The good thing about this road in particular is that I can head out with my father whenever I have a free morning. In other cases, I have been known to shout “stop!”, and almost scare the poor man to death, LOL.

  5. Same here, there is someting about grabbing the camera and heading out for pics that just makes me happy. Great pics..:-)

    • That’s why I decided that I would take at least one picture every day, because spending time with my camera makes my whole day. Even when I have to stay eight ours a day at college, I came back home to my pictures and I’m automatically happy. It’s just magic, or fate :).

  6. Hello there! Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking my ‘Electric Blue Forget-me-nots’! I love your blog; your photos are awesome – beautiful and sublime.

    This particular posting resonates with me as I was going to blog today about how photography has changed my life. I’ve only had my camera just under 2 weeks and it has opened up a whole different world to me. I find it very therapeutic and – as you say – meditative. I totally lose myself.

    Kind regards – from a fellow Muse lover!!

    • I loved your tulip, too :).
      Thanks for the kind words about my work! It’s so good to know other people enjoy my pictures. Not that I would stop taking them if they didn’t, but it’s good to know they do.
      I think no shrink in the world could have recommended a better therapy for me than the one I found with my camera. I know exactly what you’re feeling; I was just as happy and excited about photography after two weeks of it, it just took me a while to be able to process it all and put it into words.
      Just enjoy what you do with all your heart, there’s nothing better than that.

Leave a Reply

