artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Yachts and seagulls Vol. II

8 Comments

Well, here I am, after one long, stressful day. In the last post I said I’d tell you the story of why I go to the harbor so often. Actually, the pictures are from a yachting club that is sandwiched between factories and containers. It wasn’t always like that, tough. There was a time when it was larger and there were no ecological threats nearby. I pretty much grew up there, since that’s where my Dad keeps his yacht. I realized today that I haven’t taken any pictures from our Pollux, and I’ll remedy that as soon as I go back.

My Dad loves his yacht as much as I love my cameras, and it cost him just as much hard work as buying my first DSLR is costing me. He worked from age thirteen, and he saved every cent he could spare until he could finally buy the pieces for the yacht and put it together himself; he’s pretty much an autodidact naval architect. With a role model like that, I have no doubt I’ll have my own DSLR one day. I don’t think I’ve told him enough times how proud I am of him.

I’m so happy photography has turned into a way to combine our passions. I go with him to the harbor, he works on the yacht, I take pictures, and we share some father-daughter bonding time.

So, now you know. There are yet more pictures from Saturday, I’ll post them as soon as I can. For the time being, enjoy these! And thanks for commenting!

8 thoughts on “Yachts and seagulls Vol. II

  1. great story and it’s the best feeling to have someone to look up to and share passion with, isn’t it? even if it is a different passion.I’m glad you have your dad who understands exactly what it means to love something and to work hard for it! Great photos as usual 🙂

    • Thanks, Dhaami! I’m truly blessed in life; if only college wasn’t driving me so crazy… At least I know I’m doing it for something that I love. Everything is a little bit easier that way, isn’t it?

  2. It’s good to have such a wonderful connection with your father and the combination of the two passions is a total winner.
    Beautiful images, I really like the last one with he seagull circling the yacht below is great but I think my favourite is the yachts while they at the pier.
    Stunning
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • It truly is, Astra.
      Thanks! I hope I’ll find yachts and seagulls again, they make wonderful subjects. And I hope next time the lighting will be different.
      I’m glad you like these!

  3. Neat pics and story, it looks like a really relaxing day..:-)

  4. It’s really great to have someone to share your passion with! My father gas always been interested in arts (and so, photography as well) and it’s him that taught me how to use a camera and such. In our family we’re the photo-ready ones and it just feels great to have someone you can share your passion with!

    And not to forget, I LOVE these shots, they’re just so beautiful and one can really see the effort you put in them! 🙂

    • Thanks! I walked and rushed to and fro for two hours, but I only realized how long it’d been when I was on the car back home, I enjoyed it so much. It’s a great deal of work, but it’s one that I love more than anything.
      My Dad was the one who put me in touch with photography, too. He has an old SLR camera that I have never been able to master because it’s heavy as a brick and I have zero strength, but I’ve always been attracted to it. He was also the one who gave me my first two cameras, too.
      Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

