artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Jasmine

14 Comments

 

 

 

I don’t cease to be surprised, amazed and stunned (and if you can think of any other adjectives, add them, too.) I was somewhat moody yesterday morning because I had classes from 2 p.m to 10 p.m. and therefore didn’t have much time to take pictures in the morning, which crossed me because I’ve promised myself to take at least one picture every day, mostly to keep myself sane through my last year of college. But when I downloaded the few pictures I’d taken, I found the first one of this series. I’m thrilled to confirm I can do this. I can graduate and hold on tight to my dreams.

The following shots were taken this morning, since thankfully I have no classes on Friday. I took some more of a blue variety of the same plant, and hopefully I’ll get to edit and post them soon. In Spanish we call this Jazmín de leche. I googled and googled but couldn’t find out if it has a name in English. If anyone knows, please tell me. I’m learning about gardening through photography, though sadly I still don’t think I’d manage to keep a plant alive for more than a few months.

14 thoughts on “Jasmine

  1. These flowers are beautiful. i like the light and shadow.

    • Thanks! I posted more than one shot of the same flower, and when I asked myself why I realized they look like different flowers because of the way light and shadow fall on them. That was the wind shaking the tree branches surrounding the jasmine plant. I love nature!

  2. They are beautiful!! I think they are Crepe Jasmine. So very pretty.

    • Thanks! I googled Crepe Jasmine, but I don’t think that’s what these are. The leaves are different and Crepe Jasmine flowers have a slightly different shape, plus they are fragrant, which my jasmine is not (I have in my garden what is probably the only variety of unscented jasmine, sigh).
      Maybe this variety only grows here and that’s why it has no name in English. I had no idea there were so many different kinds of jasmine.

  3. The jasmine photos are beautiful. It’s not often easy to photograph white flowers, but you’ve captured the perfect lighting. Thanks also for visiting my post. I shall be back to visit!

    • I know, I see many shots of white flowers that are just one big blast of white: no lines, no clear shapes, no shadows. I’ve taken a few myself that look rather bleak.
      So yesterday I woke up early and took advantage of the play of light and shadow that takes place in this little corner of my mother’s garden in the morning. So like they say, photography is all about light.
      I really liked your blog, and thanks for dropping by!

  4. You have an amazing talent.Your technique brings details to the forefront. Your posts are inspiring and I look forward to seeing your newest photos each time I see you have a new post.

    • Wow, thanks! I think this week my readers both here and on Flickr got together and decided something like “Belén’s had a rough week at college, let’s say pretty things to her so she’ll feel better.” 🙂
      I’m SO grateful for the nice things you’ve said about my work, they mean the world to me. I think inspiring others is the best thing that can happen to any artist of any branch of art, so thanks a million for saying that to me.

  5. Another beautiful series of shots. I want to lean in and catch the scent, they look so wonderful (although I see from one of your comments they have no scent… oh well).

    White flowers can be difficult subjects. You captured them brilliantly. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robin! I know you’re a scent lover; maybe I could try spraying perfume on the flowers? 🙂 I’ll try to get some shots from my roses next spring, those have the loveliest scents.

  6. I’ve never seen flowers like that in Scotland (though they might grow here and I just haven’t noticed!) I especially like the way they almost seem to come out the screen at me, beautiful shots!

    • I’m noticing more and more that there are lots of flowers I’ve never seen. If I ever do get to live my dream of traveling around the world, I’ll ask for a flower tour.
      These are so delicate and ethereal, they made wonderful subjects. Plus my cat really loves to feed on them (why on earth, I’ve no idea).

Leave a Reply

