artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Light as dandelion seeds

18 Comments

I imagined many things that would happen when the semester started. I wouldn’t have so much time to go shooting, I wouldn’t have so much time to practice, surf the web for inspirational pictures, and therefore I wouldn’t learn so much. Summer would end, I wouldn’t find interesting subjects to shoot, or I’d be buried under piles of boring texts that I’d much rather trade for my freedom.

None of this has come true so far. Yes, I’ll probably be buried in texts within a week, but since this is my last year, I can handle everything without losing my sanity or forsaking my life; I’ve had plenty of time to learn how to do it.

Yesterday morning I went out with my camera as far as my backyard, and I found lots of little things to shoot. My favorite was this combination of blooming and fading dandelions. I’ve wanted to shoot dandelion seeds for a while, so I’m really happy.

Again, I can relate to this; I am light and free as the little dandelion seeds. Negativity can’t affect me, because I’m living my dreams every day, and I’ll fly far away from it.

18 thoughts on “Light as dandelion seeds

  1. Beautiful reminder to notice the density and ephemeral nature of things.

    • It’s a thought that keeps me going through the toughest moments of my life – this too shall pass. And it also helps me enjoy to the fullest the best moments – this will pass, so experience it with all your senses and make the most of it.

  2. You getting so much pleasure and contentment from what appears to be mundane at first glance is very adorable. Now I feel like I want to be a dandelion seed 😉

    • From my very brief time as a dandelion seed, I can tell you it’s great. You can fly away carried by the wind – there are few things better than that. I remind myself of Oliverio Girondo’s poem “Transmigration” :).

  3. These shots are beautiful. Good luck on your tests!

  4. BEAUTIFUL shots! And… thank you so much för your poem! 🙂

  5. make your piles of boring texts your subject. 🙂 i love your dandelion shots.

  6. Fantastic pictures!

  7. Beautiful shots. And a GREAT attitude. 🙂

    I love the way dandelion seeds look like little stars getting ready to fly away.

    • After the teachers and attitudes I’ve had to put up with, it’s either have a laid back approach or go crazy and star my own day of fury. It also helps that I believe in the rule of three: everything you do will come back to you multiplied by three; I really hope those teachers will have to deal with people thrice as mean as they are to their students.
      But really, how can I let that kind of stuff bring me down, when I take a look at the world through my camera and see so much beauty in such simple things?

  8. I love dandelion shots. These are wonderful.

  9. This is a great shot! For me, it captures so much more than the flowers themselves. I have such fond memories of making wishes on dandelions…

Leave a Reply

