artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

On the mend

2 Comments

No, my camera is not on the mend, but at least I am. On the one hand, my computer is back and fully functional, and it’s refreshing to remember what it was like when it was new. No more black outs, no more acting out. It actually does what I tell it to. Go figure.

My camera, on the other hand, is in intensive care. There is no Nikon technical service where I live (it’s moments like this when I curse living in a small city), so it’s been shipped kilometers away from me. And you know what technical services are like. They say I’ll get an estimate of how much repairs will cost (if it can be repaired) in about a week. Translated into normal human time, that turns out to be at least two weeks. Which means I’d have it back in over a month. Full-scale panic attack ensued. Now I understand what my friend felt when her boyfriend moved to another province.

On the upside, I’ve started browsing for new cameras. There is the Nikon Coolpix L22, an upgraded version of my L16, and there’s also the Canon A495. Both are similar to the one I had. I wish I could buy a real DSLR camera, but the dollar price here in Argentina is about 4-1. Definitely out of my league.

Plus, my father expressed an interest in keeping my old camera if it does get fixed, so I don’t feel so bad about buying a new one just because I can hardly wait a month or two. Not to mention, I’ve had really bad experiences trying to get electronic devises fixed. My old TV, my old DVD-player, a really old VCR, and my mother’s first cell phone all broke down again after being repaired. And there were no refunds, mind you.

I’ll do some offline research tomorrow, see what’s available and how much it’ll hurt. Who knows, maybe I’ll come back home with a new baby. Maybe I’ll quit moping around like my cat had been ran over by a bus (that’s all I need now, my poor kitty).

Again, wish me luck if you’re reading this.

2 thoughts on “On the mend

  1. Good luck! I know how frustrating problems with modern technology can be.

    I wanted a DSLR and decided not to buy one for the same reason. It was just too expensive. Even when I could find a good deal on a camera, there was the price of lenses to consider.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

    • Sometimes, I wish I could time-travel to some era before technology existed, so I wouldn’t have to deal all the time with multiple devices breaking down. The rest of the time I think about how sad I’d be without my pictures or my music, but of course that is when all my gadgets are functional.
      One day, I’ll save up enough money to but just the perfect camera for me. And then I’ll save little by little and I’ll buy all the lenses I want. We can do it.

Leave a Reply

