artismysanity

My words and my pictures. All I have

Breakdown

4 Comments

Today is clearly not my day. Maybe it’s Valentine’s Day’s way of taking revenge on a non-believer. I wouldn’t know. All I know is my computer is crashing (it’s working now, but heaven knows when it’s going to black out again), and tomorrow it’s going to the surgeon. The surgeon being my father, hopefully by tomorrow afternoon it will be formatted and functional.

But even worse, my camera is dead. I took some lovely shots of the sunset this evening, came back home, downloaded them to my computer, and all was well. I went to turn it on a few minutes ago, and puff, all I see is static. I guess it could be the LCD. The technician will tell me, because first thing in the morning I’m paying him a visit. To me, having my camera die is the equivalent to breaking up with your significant other, on Valentine’s Day, no less. Is my life ironic, or what?

I can’t tell just how depressed I am right now. I’m sure in a week I’ll be looking back and feeling endlessly relieved that this is over (there are loans and credit cards, I know can get a new camera even if I don’t have the money right now). But hell, that camera is a piece of my soul. I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Maybe it can be fixed.

I was going to post some of the pictures I took yesterday and today, but just thinking about them makes me sad, so I’ll leave them for a better day.

If anyone’s reading this, wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “Breakdown

  1. Hey, all the luck in the world with regards to your camera. I can only imagine how “heartbreaking” this day has been for you.

    All will be well for sure, don’t fret 😉

    • Thank you. Solutions are on the way, even if they are not what I expected. I’ll make a post about it because it helps me to get it off my chest. I’ve been a mess all day. I guess I should be ashamed to say it, but I’m not. Just the idea of not being able to take pictures for months is terrifying. But thanks for your sentiment. I know that someone miles away sympathises with my loss. That’s encouraging.

  2. Oh dear! It’s definitely not your day. 😦
    The loss of my camera would equate to the loss of a limb for me.
    It can only get better from here. 🙂

    • Some of my acquaintances think I exaggerate. But the knowledge that I can’t just grab my camera and go chase something wonderful that I’ve seen out there is mind-boggling. I feel like a fish out of water.
      But you’re right, things can only get better. At least my camera can’t break all over again, can it?

Leave a Reply

